New and upgraded schools

Our kids deserve great classrooms. It’s the reason we’ve invested $3.8 billion in capital funding to plan, build and upgrade Victoria’s schools, Tech Schools and early childhood facilities over the past four years.

Secondary school students in common area of school

The Victorian Budget 2019/20 continues that commitment, making the right investments to ensure our kids are getting the great education they deserve.

New schools

In order to ensure local families have peace of mind about their children’s future – and deliver on our commitment to open 100 new schools – this year’s Budget invests $671 million to build 17 new schools.

Land purchases for new school sites

A further $46 million will go towards the purchase of land for four new schools, planning for local families’ future needs across our growing suburbs and regions.

Upgrading and modernising

And to make sure every community has a great local school, an additional $363 million will go towards upgrading classrooms and facilities across 59 existing schools with a further 44 schools receiving funding to plan for their upgrades.

This year’s Budget also includes:

  • $402 million to build, expand and renovate our state’s non-government schools.
  • $291 million for the Relocatable Buildings Program, School Pride and Sport Fund and Asbestos Safety Program to further improve our state’s schools.
  • $3 million for upgrades to secondary campuses to provide private and dedicated spaces for the roll out of new mental health counselling services for secondary students.

Metro new school construction

  • Cranbourne West 7-12 and Special School
  • Docklands Primary School
  • Edgars Creek Primary School
  • Edgars Creek Secondary College (additional stage of school buildings will be constructed)
  • Eynesbury Station Primary School
  • Fishermans Bend Secondary School
  • Fitzroy Gasworks
  • Greenvale North West Primary School
  • McKinnon Secondary College
  • Merrifield West Primary School
  • Pakenham Henry Road Secondary School
  • Rockbank North Primary School
  • Thoroughbred Primary School
  • Timbertop (Officer North West) Primary School
  • Truganina South East Primary School
  • Wollahra Primary School

Metro school upgrades

  • Altona North Primary School
  • Altona P-9 College
  • Auburn High School
  • Boronia Heights Primary School
  • Brentwood Secondary College
  • Copperfield College
  • Cranbourne South Primary School
  • Cranbourne West Primary School
  • Dandenong High School
  • Diamond Valley College
  • Eltham North Primary School
  • Exford Primary School
  • Fairfield Primary School
  • Footscray Learning Precinct
  • Frankston North Education Precinct
  • Gladstone Views Primary School
  • Glenroy Secondary College
  • Hampton Park Secondary College
  • Kensington Primary School
  • Koonung Secondary College
  • Monbulk Primary School
  • Murrumbeena Primary School
  • Narre Warren North Primary School
  • Parkhill Primary School
  • Preston Primary School
  • Red Hill Consolidated School
  • Research Primary School
  • Rosehill Secondary College
  • Skye Primary School
  • South Yarra Primary School
  • Strathmore Secondary College
  • Sunshine College
  • The Grange P-12 College
  • Upwey High School
  • Victoria University Secondary College
  • Viewbank Primary School
  • Wales Street Primary School
  • Warringa Park School
  • Watsonia Primary School
  • Waverley Meadows Primary School
  • Wellington Secondary College
  • Yarra Ranges Special Developmental School

Planning for Metro school upgrades

  • Albert Park College and the Victorian College of the Arts Secondary School
  • Brandon Park Primary School
  • Brunswick North West Primary School
  • Clifton Hill Primary School
  • Clyde Primary School
  • Cranbourne Secondary College
  • Derinya Primary School
  • Diamond Creek East Primary School
  • Fitzroy North Primary School
  • Gladstone Park Primary School
  • Glen Huntly Primary School
  • Greensborough Secondary College
  • Kew High School
  • Koo Wee Rup Primary School
  • Lang Lang Primary School
  • Macleod College
  • Monbulk College
  • Montmorency Secondary College
  • Mordialloc College
  • Parkdale Secondary College
  • Pascoe Vale South Primary School
  • Patterson River Secondary College
  • Port Melbourne Primary School
  • Reservoir Primary School
  • Southern Autistic School
  • St Helena Secondary College
  • St Kilda Primary School
  • Staughton College
  • Timbarra P-9 College
  • Tucker Road Bentleigh Primary School
  • Williamstown High School
  • Windsor Primary School

Metro Land Acquisition for new schools

  • Hume
  • Melton

Regional new school construction

  • Armstrong Creek Secondary College
  • Bass Coast Junior Secondary School

Regional school upgrades

  • Avoca Primary School
  • Beechworth Secondary College
  • Bellbrae Primary School
  • Benalla P-12 College
  • Churchill Primary School
  • Echuca Regeneration Project
  • Epsom Primary School
  • Geelong High School
  • Inglewood Primary School
  • Marong Primary School
  • Matthew Flinders Girls Secondary College
  • Mount Clear College
  • Mount Rowan Secondary College
  • New Gisborne Primary School
  • Oberon Primary School
  • Traralgon (Kosciuszko Street) Primary School
  • White Hills Primary School

Planning for Regional school upgrades

  • Ararat Primary School
  • Baimbridge College
  • Bairnsdale Secondary College
  • Ballarat High School
  • Bellarine Secondary College
  • Cowes Primary School
  • Delacombe Primary School
  • East Loddon P-12 College
  • Miners Rest Primary School
  • Newcomb Park Primary School
  • Newcomb Secondary College
  • Phoenix P-12 Community College

Regional Land Acquisition for new schools

  • Macedon Ranges
  • Wodonga

Reviewed 24 May 2019

Was this page helpful?